The nature of the signs is shown through the elements
fire, earth, air and water.

Fire Signs
Spiritual power, impulse (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius) (Yang+)

Earth Signs
Materialism (Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn)(Yin-)

Air Signs
Intellectuality (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius)(Yang+)

Water Signs
Spiritual and psychic qualities, emotion (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces)(Yin-)

Fire and Air (Yang) signs are always found opposite of one
another, as are Earth and Water (Yin).

The modalities explain the basic qualities of the signs in terms of their

Cardinal Signs
Outward Movement / Enterprising & goal oriented
(Aries, Cancer, Libra, Capricorn)

Fixed Signs
Inward Movement / Unyielding to outside influences
(Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius)

Mutable Signs
Spiral Movement / Adaptable & Changeable
(Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, Pisces)
astrology chart
blue wheel
element eyes